Book Review: The Hunger Games (Series)

**In celebration of The Mockingjay Part 1 release this month, I will review this book**

Title: The Hunger Games (Series, available here)

Author: Suzanne Collins

Genre: Fiction

Review: This series was a good read. Originally I saw the movie for The Hunger Games first. So reading throughout the first book was almost rushed because I knew what was going to happen. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, but I enjoyed the movie more. I am willing to bet I enjoyed it more solely because I watched it first and not read it first. It made me wonder if something like this could happen in real life, years down the line.  The second book was much harder to get through. It had so much detail and took forever to get to action, but once it got to the action I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed this book much better than the movie.  Was it just me, or did they cast the characters poorly? Some of them looked nothing like what I expected.  The final book, I also really enjoyed though it was kind of sad for me. You can tell it was trying to pull everything into place and trying to wrap up. I had hoped it would end better but I am really looking forward to the movie. I hope that I am not let down.I enjoyed Katniss’ character although, in my opinion, she was a bit selfish and like a woman didn’t know who she wanted. I felt terrible for Peeta because he loved her so much and then, well,  the Capital corrupted him. All in all, I really liked the series.

I would definitely recommend this series. The series  gets 4-Stars from me!

Don’t forget, I am still polling and trying to pull together a virtual book club. Take the poll and submit your information here. I would really like to get this started soon!

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Hunger Games (Series)

Leave a Reply

