#MicroblogMonday| Expect or Accept, that is the question?

I haven’t blogged much lately but I think, besides the fact that I haven’t had much to talk about, the 25 days of Christmas blogs really burned me out! Alas, a question came to mind that I want to discuss.

So, the way I see it, there are two types of people in relationships. The kind that believes in “do unto others how you would want them to do unto you ” and the kind that believes in “accepting that everyone won’t handle things as you do.” I will obviously have to explain what I mean.

I am the type 1, expect the same in return. I know expectations are a one way street in the direction of disappointment. But, I feel like in a relationship there are certain expectations. Hell, in life, there are certain expectations. If I can do something for my partner, with in reason, they should have no problem showing me the same courtesy. I’m not talking about anything dramatic, but if I can bring you dinner after a long day of work, you certainly can do the same for me every once in a while.

However, there are some people who just accept that your spouse may not respond the way you do. This theory won’t work for me, but I’m sure it does work for some people. This would make me feel like I’m in a one sided relationship. Like I am giving and giving. And the other person would participate in their own way, of course. But not necessarily in a way I receive it.

My best friend read The Five Love Language which I want to get around to reading. Because it basically tells you how people receive love.

Which type are you?

Until next time ….

Sig

5 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday| Expect or Accept, that is the question?

  1. I think I may be the second type. I certainly like things to feel balanced, but I also know that I have strengths that Josh doesn’t have, and he has strengths that I don’t have. And it’s also just the way we see the world and what we notice.

  2. I am type 1. I like reciprocity whenever possible. Even though it may not be on the same thing but it is done for me.

  3. We’ve discussed this so you know that I am Type 2. After many years of being with our man *insider* you know I’ve come to grips with the fact that more often then not men are a bit slow and things don’t register the same. I’ve realized that our boo won’t do all the things for me that I would do without second thought for him. Is it annoying? Yup! Do I fuss about it? Yup! Will it change that fact that he isn’t the most thoughtful person? Nope. I accept that part of him as a flaw that may or may not change over time. It’s gotten a bit better over the years though. I am the same with everyone though. I don’t do things with the expectation that they would do the same for me. I know that everyone won’t handle a situation or reciprocate to me the same courtesy that I may have given them but you know my heart is gold lol so I don’t mind.

Leave a Reply

