I’m a label whore ….

I am a label whore, but not the kind that you’re probably thinking. I am a feminine lesbian and my girlfriend “appears” to be a dominant lesbian but if you ask she would probably say that she doesn’t follow labels. Now, I personally love labels but as time goes on I’ve learned that not everyone does. For me, I like things to be clear and concise which is probably why I enjoy things to be labeled clearly because then I know what to expect.

People make a fuss about lesbian relationships following gender roles. I take the trash out and my girlfriend may cook (she doesn’t but she has) but for the most part we don’t really follow any specific gender roles. So I don’t believe the labels are influencing that but they could.  I once dated a woman who identified as a Dom and she was a bit more masculine. Even her thinking was a bit more masculine, meaning because she was a Dom she was supposed to be the person I relied on for handy work or as the more dominant  person she was supposed to do this or that. And I am fine with that.  But in the same token I’ve dated women who defined themselves as doms and they actually were very feminine. I don’t have a problem with that at all but I just find that some times those with labels tend to try to live up to it.

I asked three people how they felt about labels. One said it was necessary and she didn’t need a label. One said she was comfortable being labeled. One said as she gets older she finds the labels have no meaning in her relationship. They don’t define anything and she just allows the natural flow of herself and her partner to just naturally define the roles. 

As I get older I find that more people aren’t as hung up on it. So does it make me immature because I prefer them? How do labels define you ? Do they play a part in your relationships ? 

7 thoughts on “I’m a label whore ….

  1. I’m a fem and my gf is a stud. I enjoy having labels. I think they help clarify things. I enjoy being with more masculine women. I also enjoy the aesthetics of a feminine woman in a relationship with a more masculine woman…. but that’s just me, lol

  2. I don’t think you are immature for preferring labels. If that is your perspective, I honor it.

    As for me, I stand on the cusp of label and label-less, on the corner of Label Free Boulevard and Label Acceptance Parkway. Sounds incomprehensible? Okay. I accept that. I am a fem with an aggressive way. That way used to be purposely hidden or camouflaged when I was constantly perceived as a femme. I felt my fem aggression whenever I encountered a woman who moved me in a certain way. I wanted to love and protect her more so than I longed for her to do so for me, in that masculine sense. On the other hand, of course I’d want her to love me, but I would want her to love me, believe in me and have my back.

    So I am open to all perspectives here in a strange, wonderful sense!

Leave a Reply

