Book Review: Goslyn County

Dammmmn Tania… Back at it again with another book review. Lol, if you haven’t seen a Damn Daniel meme or watched the video, I encourage you to use our good girlfriend Google and look it up. Moving along, as my first sentence suggested, I am back again with another review, this time for a crime thriller, lesbian romance novel! It was definitely different, so let’s just get right into it ! 

  

Author: A.M. McKnight

Genre: Crime/Lesbian Romance Fiction

Overview:

A mostly black community with its roots in farming, Goslyn, Virginia lay just south of the State’s Capital. The once small, close-knit county had grown rapidly in the past two decades and boasted a population of just over fifty thousand. But the county’s crime stats had grown as well, and the latest offenses included several break-ins and rumors of a meth lab. Time had brought many changes, and many of the longtime folks of Goslyn no longer recognized their community and longed for days gone by.

Goslyn PD Detective Olivia “Ollie” Winston loves her family and friends and shows it through her sense of humor. Just like her neighbors, she too worries about the recent events, and it’s her job to find out who’s behind the crime spree.

While investigating three burglaries, Olivia meets IRS Special Agent Maureen Jeffries who is pursuing a tax fraud suspect. Their cases are connected, and both soon discover they have much in common, personally and professionally.
 

Review:

I say this book was different because it wasn’t your typical girl meets girl, or girl meet girl and leave boyfriend type of book!

Goslyn County was a great book where crime meets romance. While solving a crime we are also being walked through a budding relationship. Olivia is great at what she does and so is Maureen but together they make a great team.

I really enjoyed the small town vibe, Goslyn seems like a great place to raise children and grow old! I enjoyed the community where everyone pitched in to maintain what I assume must be a lovely garden!

I loved how supportive everyone was of Olivia and how everyone had her best interest at heart. If only people could be more loving and accepting in real life as they are in Goslyn County!

The book was about 60% crime and about 40% journey through the relationship. I could appreciate that the relationship wasn’t quick, it progressed at a steady and realistic pace. Also, as a lover of the Alex Cross series, I could appreciate a good crime mystery! My only suggest would be maybe tying everything together at the end with an epilogue. With the main book being about a crime, I missed not knowing what happened to this person or that person. I just like tying up loose ends. 

Bottom line : 

The book was well written and edited. It was consistent and flowed well. I know not everyone follows labels, but it would have been helpful for me to distinguish between the two women as I constantly mixed them up while reading. (This happens to me often because I read and visualize). However it was a good story line! 4 out of 5 stars for me! 
Until next time….

Signature

Leave a Reply

