Book Review: Fistful of Love

Hey! 

I was lucky enough to snag an advanced reader’s copy of Fistful of Love by Renee Cronin. And lucky enough for you, it is now available and I have a review for it! Let’s get right into it! 
 

  
Author: Renee Cronin (Available here

Genre: Lesbian Fiction/ Romanace

Overview: 

At the age of 23, social worker, Jeya Wellington was pretty much on her own. The devastating loss of her parents left her bereft and alone. Her best friend, Roman and his family have been like surrogates, but they could never replace what she lost. She needed a different connection. Shortly after losing her parents, she finds love and comfort in the arms of Rayne Watson, a correctional officer. 

Rayne was exactly what she needed at the time, but now, two years later, Jeya wants out. She never expected love to come with bruises. She didn’t anticipate losing friends and living in fear. This was not her idea of true love. With the support of Roman, Jeya finds a way to leave. But Rayne isn’t letting go that easily. They made a commitment to each other, and she has the tattoo to prove it – ‘Til Death Do Us Part. 

Torn between the love she has for Rayne and the instinct to protect herself, is Jeya’s will stronger than her vow?

Review: 

Now, I must say, I actually don’t like to read books about domestic violence because I get mad. I get mad as if I’m that persons friend and I want so much better for them and I want to save them. It’s so frustrating having best friends in novels.  This was no exception. In Fistful of Love we meet Jeya who, in her 20 some odd years of life, has already dealt with so much. So naturally when she finds someone who is supposed to offer her solace and peace she clings to them. 

So what do you do when the same person who is supposed to be your escape from hell also is the reason you’re in a living hell? That’s what Jeya faced. I think the author did a great job of pulling me into the story.  I was sucked and I wanted to quickly find out what was going to happen with this love affair. 

The storyline was good although a little bit predictable because I knew there was going to be one way out and my assumptions proved to be correct. However, I liked the little twist at the end. 

I believe the characters were well thought out and developed nicely. The book was edited and written well.  It was short and to the point. It was realistic. There was one focus and instead of making it filled with drama that would have been unbelievable, it was filled with things that could and, I’m sure, has happened to someone. Someone could definitely relate, unfortunately. 

Bottom line:

Overall, I would recommend this book and I would give this  4 stars! It’s a easy and quick read while road tripping or traveling or even just relaxing and it will definitely suck you in! 
Until next time….
Signature

Leave a Reply

