Book Review: The Unhappy Wife

I know no one expected me to be back again, so soon. But I am and I have another book lined up to review (along with plenty more!). I was lucky enough to received an ARC of The Unhappy Wife by K. E. Garland. So, I’m just going to jump right into it. 


Author: K. E. Garland (Get it here)

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Synopsis: 

Twelve women share one thing in common – the quest for being happily married to the men they chose; however, each one finds herself in an unexpected marital predicament. Inspired by real events and told from each woman’s perspective, these short stories are firsthand accounts detailing the realities of marriage well after each woman said, “I do.” .


Review: 
So, again, this is a little different than the books I usually read as this is a collection of short stories. However, they were very good stories and lessons. As a woman, there are certain things that society pushes on us, marriage being one of them. The reasons why people get married or stay married are all their own. But through these stories I found that women have settled, ignored their intuition, addicted to marriage, or even relinquished their power in their marriages. 
This just further proves that women often compromise so much to look perfect to the world. There are women who would rather stay married than to be embarrassed by a divorce which to some equals failure. 
The stories, though short, were wonderfully told. They had their own unique voice for each woman telling the story. And, they each had a lesson, if not more. The book was edited wonderfully and was well written. 
Bottom Line:
I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars. I’m nosey in nature, but I was immediately drown into the stories. I am also in a space in my life where growth is front and center and learning red flags and lessons are most important, so I appreciated each of these stories. I would recommend this book. 
Until next time..

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Unhappy Wife

  1. Thanks so much for this review Tania! I truly appreciate it. Also, thanks for seeing the vision. I’m always nervous that people won’t “get it,” but I’m glad you did. Finally, thanks bunches for stepping out of your typical genres. Much love.

Leave a comment